10 bolt 8.2 BOP axle housing pins

Crankor
Newbie Poster

10 bolt 8.2 BOP axle housing pins

Post by Crankor »

They don't like me anymore and are making a run for it. All of them on the passenger side have shifted to some degree. Causing a noticeable wiggle when accelerating or turning which prompted me to investigate. I have no experience with this particular job. I understand that they are supposed to be a press fit and are often tacked in place but do they go all the way through? I don't see how, because they are centered on the tube and well...an axle goes through there. One has pulled in, does that mean I must disassemble the rear in order to get it out again? I haven't found any information on the internet or my manual. If you can give me some direction I truly appreciate it. Thanks.

Michael
monzaz
Average Poster

Re: 10 bolt 8.2 BOP axle housing pins

Post by monzaz »

MICHAEL, We are totally lost to what part your trying to describe ...can you send pictures

axle housing pin??? Just do not know what that is... read this 3 times...I just can not grasp what pins ? etc.

Maybe start with the year rear, car year, pictures of the area the trouble is or what part you are trying to describe.

we think you might be talking about the pins being BEARINGS and bearings are pressed onto the axle shaft and your axles have too much end play? That is a total guess.

Jim Mitschke

J D
J D Race
Crankor
Newbie Poster

Post by Crankor »

Thanks for taking the time to reply. I'm sorry I was vague, I was very stressed out at the time and thinking in circles. The pertinent data
Car:
Pontiac
Firebird

The the rear is an 8.2 BOP 10-bolt multi leaf '69 I believe.
I will attempt to attach pics. I hope they aren't too small I had to resize them so that they would attach.
Attachments
Passenger side to the right of the diff cover
Passenger side to the right of the diff cover
Pinion/passenger side of diff
Pinion/passenger side of diff
monzaz
Average Poster

Post by monzaz »