HELP advice on gear pattern

uncleg
Rookie Poster

HELP advice on gear pattern

Post by uncleg »

101_9497.jpg
101_9496.jpg
I need some advice. I've been playing with this for a while now, different sites seem to give conflicting ideas about what the gear pattern should look like.
I have a 8.5 GM with a new set of richmond gears 373.
I used the ratech pinion depth checker and set the depth how they recommend. I'm within .001 of the stamp on the pinion. The ring gear is stamped .010 backlash but it looks better at .013 (see pics).
I have looked at this thing for so long I need an objective opinion before I do something drastic any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Attachments
101_9504.jpg
67drake
Rookie Poster

Re: HELP advice on gear pattern

Post by 67drake »

I'll throw my opinion in. To me it looks like the pinion is a hair too close to the ring gear. I'd say pull another .001-.002" out from under the pinion.
I'm still a rookie though,I would of coarse wait for Jim's blessing! It just helps me learn to look at patterns too. 8)
67drake
Rookie Poster

Post by 67drake »

I'll throw my opinion in. To me it looks like the pinion is a hair too close to the ring gear. I'd say pull another .001-.002" out from under the pinion.
I'm still a rookie though,I would of coarse wait for Jim's blessing! It just helps me learn to look at patterns too. 8)
monzaz
Average Poster

Post by monzaz »

Ok well you are definetely TOO...DEEP. The pattern is too deep on the coast and the driveside telling us that you need to remove pinion shim from the pack. What shim thickness are you using?

Usually around .038 for stock GM gears. Richmond and most aftermarkets will be kind of all over .

Pinion depth tools are great for getting you in the ball park WHICH the pattern is... But this WILL MAKE NOISE if you leave it alone.

I would say take at least .004 to .004 out.